Reinstalled Windows C: drive has become I: drive!

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Reinstalled Windows C: drive has become I: drive!

Hello

Reinstalled Windows and my partitioned hard disk, which was C & D drives has now become C and I drive, where c: drive is the old D: drive and the I: Drive is the old C: drive!!!

Anyone got any advice as to how I can make the I: drive back to the C: drive and the C: Drive back to the D: drive.

I don't want to format the old D: drive as it has all my data on and I would have to find somewhere to put over 200Gb. Happy to format the old C: drive (boot drive) as it only has my OS and Program files on.

I can't use the Disk Manager as it says can't change drive letters of system drives.

Lightbulb Reassign Drive Letters

If you are using WindowsXP you can easily reassign drive letters, but I would hesitate to reassign the boot partition. Windows might not like that, but I've never tried it before

There are many ways to do it, but here is the quickest and most straight forward way I know.

Right-click "My Computer" on your desktop and choose "Manage" from the resulting menu. In the new window that pops up the second item down is "Storage." Under that entry select "Disk Management." That will show you all the drives on your system. You may have an external drive, CD drive or a media card reader that is taking up your drive letters. I've had that problem before Right-click on the partition you wish to change and choose "Change drive letters and paths..."

Hope this helps

Hi FlamingToad

Unfortunately not. As I put in my post 'I can't use the Disk Manager as it says can't change drive letters of system drives'. It simply won't let me do that.I have unplugged all my external drives, card readers etc to limit the number of drive letters used up.