+ [Reply]
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Citibank branch codes....

  1. #1
    MXZ
    MXZ is offline

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    HK
    Posts
    258
    Likes Recd
    22
    Likes Given
    2

    Citibank branch codes....

    Hi guys,

    When I opened my citibank account a while back, I was given a little laminated card that had the branch code 392. I opened the account at the TST branch on Nathan road.

    I've done a couple of wire transfers from the UK using that branch code and it worked fine.

    Now, because citibank hides the account number online and they don't print it on their ATM cards, I had to call up and ask for the details again - and this time they told me that my branch code is definitely 390.

    Has anyone else come across this sort of thing? I'm planning to have my salary paid into the account so the last thing I want is for it to go somewhere else :S

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    22,209
    Likes Recd
    2409
    Likes Given
    633
    This document, which comes from the Inter-bank Clearing company website says pretty clearly that you are correct - 390 is the Wheelock House Branch and 392 is the Nathan Road Branch.

    http://www.hkicl.com.hk/clientbrowse...ID=916&lang=en

  3. #3
    MXZ
    MXZ is offline

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    HK
    Posts
    258
    Likes Recd
    22
    Likes Given
    2
    Sent them an online message asking for confirmation. They insist it is 390 (even thought a wire transfer two days ago cleared within 12 hours from the UK using 392). I also sent a local transfer to 390 and it cleared fine.

    WTF :-/

  4. #4

    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Sai Kung
    Posts
    3,274
    Likes Recd
    965
    Likes Given
    235
    I wonder if it's like HSBC. For TT to my company account from abroad they always use the Central branch details even though my account was originally in TST. The Swift code refers to that also.
    Posted via Mobile Device

  5. #5
    MXZ
    MXZ is offline

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    HK
    Posts
    258
    Likes Recd
    22
    Likes Given
    2
    I opened a new account and they printed off a little reminder card with all my details on it (actually really useful) and again it showed 390. So I asked the same question and surprisingly she gave me a more useful answer - though the facial expression suggested she was guessing

    She said that citibank are consolidating their branch codes but the originals would still work - which was why 392 was fine for the wire transfer and why 390 worked for a local transfer.

    So, nothing to panic about it seems :-)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: Yesterday, 09:58 PM
  2. Which Citibank branch to open a bank account?
    By kale in forum Banking & Insurance
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 29-05-2010, 02:52 PM
  3. Citibank Zero Interest (with Citibank Credit Card)
    By Dmmos in forum Computers and Internet
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 23-05-2010, 04:18 PM
  4. Xbox 1 Month Codes Free Promo
    By JaredHK in forum Home Entertainment / Video Games
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 15-03-2010, 09:07 AM
  5. Citibank ATMs
    By japan_wet_dip in forum Banking & Insurance
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-09-2006, 02:03 PM


Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO