Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

HSBC wire transfers swift

  1. #1
    Facebook User

    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Soho
    Posts
    4

    HSBC wire transfers swift

    has anyone ever wired money from a Bank of America account into a HSBC account through online transfer?

    I've been trying to do this but the system would only let me choose from abt 6 HSBC banks in HK and none of them is the regular HSBC Ltd. where all the personal accounts are. They're all like HSBC Securities, HSBC Broking Services, HSBC Trustee, etc... Any idea which one I should choose??

    I called both BofA and HSBC and they both don't know anything and tell me to call the other bank...

    Please please help!

  2. #2
    Admin
    shri's Avatar

    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    薄扶林
    Posts
    8,639
    HSBC Hong Kong - HSBCHKHHHKH
    Follow GeoExpat On: Twitter & Facebook

  3. #3
    Facebook User

    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Soho
    Posts
    4
    thanks I know that one but it's not in the options I can choose from. that's why I'm so confused...

  4. #4
    Admin
    shri's Avatar

    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    薄扶林
    Posts
    8,639
    Wait .. from a local BofA account (not sure if they do retail anymore or not..) or from the US?

    We do receive transfers from the US - but am not sure if they're from BofA or not.
    Follow GeoExpat On: Twitter & Facebook

  5. #5
    Facebook User

    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Soho
    Posts
    4
    it's from the US and they're so incompetent... no one can help me put the right swift code there, they just want me to pick one of their available options but the money won't go whre it's supposed to go! ugh

    if BofA does retail here, does that mean I can maybe just go to their office?? that would be great

  6. #6
    Banned
    PDLM's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    22,202
    Is there a "Hong Kong Bank" in the list? That is the old name of HSBC's HK operation.

  7. #7
    Registered User
    psjylife's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Sheung Wan
    Posts
    223
    Hey, I struggled too.. The information you must give is:
    BANK NAME: HSBC
    BANK CODE: 004
    ADDRESS: 1 Queen's Road Central,Hong Kong
    SWIFT CODE: HSBC HKH HHKH
    first name : yy
    last name : cc
    account : xxx

    If you have a multi currency account, then you need to tell your bank that you want to have the transfer done in USD. This way you don't pay for change!

    Not tested from BoA but from 2 banks in France and it worked

  8. #8
    Banned
    PDLM's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    22,202
    The problem, as I understand it, is that he doesn't have free form fields to fill in - he just has a list of possible destination banks and has to select one.

  9. #9
    Registered User

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    6,230
    I know this is an old thread, but can someone please confirm that the information quoted below is up to date, and all that is needed to make an international payment to my Hong Kong HSBC account (from another country)?

    I'm also wondering if the address should instead be my branch address, i.e. the branch where I opened the account?

    Thanks!

    Quote Originally Posted by psjylife
    BANK NAME: HSBC
    BANK CODE: 004
    ADDRESS: 1 Queen's Road Central,Hong Kong
    SWIFT CODE: HSBC HKH HHKH
    first name : yy
    last name : cc
    account : xxx
    Last edited by justjoe86; 10-07-2011 at 02:58 PM.

  10. #10
    Banned
    PDLM's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    22,202
    I wouldn't split the names out - just a single "Account name", otherwise, that's correct. You use the Central address not the individual branch.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast