Like Tree6Likes

Beginner with HK$2.000.000 - Best way to invest them in long term?

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Beginner with HK$2.000.000 - Best way to invest them in long term?

Hi,

I'm an engineer and know not much about investments. I'm not native English. I know almost nothing about English financial terminology. I have the money in HK, in a HSBC account and getting an astonishing HK$4 in interest each month, and want to
    invest them in HK, on a 10-20 year period to secure me a descent pension when getting older.

I have lately read a few books, in my own mother language, but they targets my home country financial market only. All the books are screaming ¨Do it your self¨, ¨Stay away from funds¨ and explains that funds are eating up your gains with fees and you much wanted exponential interest-on-interest-effect will almost be wiped out.... The books suggest to invest in stocks and also gives a lot of hints on what to look for to pick the the sweetest cherries on the tree.
    All the books are referring to Buffett Warren and his investment philosophy.

The books also warns the readers not to trust neither bank or financial advisers, as they only looks to them self and how much they can pocket from you... Hiring an independent financial adviser (no transactions goes though him/her) could be an option though...

Huu, not an easy start for a rookie investor like my self, right?

I need suggestions... Where to start? Where can i learn more about the HK financial market, terminology? Preferable books for beginners on a fair level of English language, or even better, educational film and audio books. Suggestions of tools/websites that could help me?

What would you do if you were in my shoes? Invest in Stocks, properties, funds or??? And why?

// Zoom

Last edited by ZOOM; 24-07-2015 at 10:32 PM.

Thanks Jrkob,

Im not living in HK, I'm living in another part of Asia. Otherwise it is correct.

Quote Originally Posted by ZOOM:
    Hi,