Like Tree9Likes

HK Company, Salary, and Accounting

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

HK Company, Salary, and Accounting

Hi Everyone,

I recently created my company in HK, I started making money. I would like now, as a director, to use the money for personal purposes.

Note: I'm a French resident, and doing business exclusively in China. Then, everything happens outside of HK.

I have a few legal questions:
    - How can I give myself a salary? Can I simply transfer some money on my bank account every month, and mention it when I fill my tax form?
    - As a director, if I give myself a salary, should I pay any tax in HK? (I know I nee to declare my salary in my home country, and pay taxes on it).
    - As a director, I saw a solution to pay myself with dividends. But how taxes work with dividends? Should I pay the same amount of taxes as a French company? Where should I pay taxes? France, or HK?

I'm a bit confused with all these points. Maybe someone here already had the same and could help me
    Otherwise, I currently don't have any accountant (my accounting is simple and I'm handling it by myself so far), but maybe they're the people I should ask these questions? Could you recommend any good -not too expensive- accountant in HK?

Thanks a lot for your help!

Yes, you give yourself a salary by paying yourself some money. Best to keep a record of it. Ideally draft an employment contract with your company (there is a template on the government website, simple as anything to fill in). That way you are all set up as an employee of your company.

Yes you list your salary on the tax forms (there are tax forms that employers have to fill in for each employee) but as a non resident in Hong Kong you would not pay any tax.

As an employee your company must also pay MPF unless you have a recognised pension scheme outside of HK - if so write down the details and file that in case anyone asks.